The Extension

Fridays @ The MoMA…

Posted in Art by ologundudu on June 19, 2009

always manage to inspire me. I find myself sitting or walking around for hours, thinking and coming up with new ideas. Last week I went with a friend who is in town. Below are a few photos of my favorite work, which I’m sure will make there way into my next collection. 

 

DSCN2763

this reminded me of an M.C. Escher 

IMG_0891

i love when you see things like this. 

IMG_0900

The Spine (side note, I have scoliosis) 

IMG_0916

IMG_0917

I’m not really a fan of Pollack, but I really liked this messy collage of things. There are ciggarettes, nails, and buttons in this piece. 

IMG_0928

IMG_0929

Pieces like this always inspire me more than anything else. It feels much like a living, breathing thing, and trying to translate that into jewelry, poses a challenge that I love. 

IMG_0931

IMG_0932

This caught my eye, because of it’s shape, and the light glowing from within, it also had a very textural feel that I liked. 

IMG_0923

Perception and perspective are funny things. Sometimes just words we use to describe things, but in this instance, you see yourself looking at the man, and you see him looking at the crowd, which is actually you. Interesting piece. 

IMG_0933

IMG_0935

I had been to the MoMA the week before, without my camera, and I was bummed out. Who goes to the museum without a camera right? I was in the diamond district that day trying to pick up a piece for a friend, and it was late, and I just decided to walk a few blocks over to museum, and when I saw these paintings I knew I had to come back. So much color, so much life, I really like these. The artist info is below. 

IMG_0934

IMG_0936

Odilon Redon! 

IMG_0957

IMG_0959

This was was of those beautiful tortured paintings about life, and struggle, and revolution. 

IMG_0955

IMG_0956

Simple graphic pieces like this inspires me a lot. While I was at the MoMA, my friend and I would pass by a lot of things, and say “Is that art?” And I think it’s just one of those things, where you have to ask yourself, what you think of it, how it makes you feel, does it do something for you, you know? 

IMG_0918

IMG_0920

IMG_0919

By far one of my favorites. I stood and looked at this one for a long time. 

IMG_0912

IMG_0913

IMG_0914

This piece was huge, and so beautiful. Lots of detail, and the shades of grey and black were really dope. 

 

The MoMA 

Leave a Reply

